June 11 – July 6, 2018 » Causal Inference in the Presence of Dependence and Network Structure

Organizers: Erica E.M. Moodie (McGill), David A. Stephens (McGill), Alexandra M. Schmidt (McGill)

The goal of most, if not all, statistical inference is to uncover causal relationships, however it is not generally possible to infer causality from standard statistical procedures. In the last three decades, the field of causal inference research has grown at a rapid pace, and yet much of the literature is devoted to relatively simple settings. In this month-long program, we aim to push the frontiers of causal inference beyond simple settings to accommodate complex data with features such as network or spatial structure. We will hold a series of lectures and workshops that address current and novel aspects of causal inference, which involves the uncovering of relationships between variables in an observationally-derived data collection setting. Throughout this program, we will investigate new and challenging settings that have been studied in the conventional statistical literature, but not viewed through the lens of causal inference. The unifying theme of the program is that of complex dependence, with a particular focus on spatial, network, and graphical structures.

July 2 – 6, 2018 » A Celebration of CICMA’s Postdoctoral Program

Organizers: Henri Darmon (McGill), Andrew Granville (Montréal)

The goal of this workshop will be to host the CRM–ISM postdoctoral fellows who have worked in the Centre Interuniversitaire en Calcul Mathématique Algébrique (CICMA) over the last 30 years or so. CICMA includes researchers working in number theory, group theory, and algebraic geometry. The large majority of our postdoctoral fellows have launched successful academic careers of their own, and since then have maintained close ties with CICMA, contributing to its success by sending their students to Montréal and, in some cases, through continued exchanges and collaborations with permanent CICMA members. The CRM 50th anniversary provides an opportunity to bring these researchers back to Montréal and celebrate their achievements and contributions to the scientific life of the number theory group.

July 9 – 20, 2018 » Montréal Summer Workshop on Challenges in Probability and Mathematical Physics

Organizers: Alexander Fribergh (Montréal) , Louigi Addario-Berry (McGill), Omer Angel (British Columbia)

This event is similar to a short thematic semester. There will be a light schedule of talks, leaving a lot of free time to encourage collaborations between participants and promote discussions between members of different subfields in probability theory.

The central topic of the workshop will be random media, with an emphasis on the following themes: spin glasses, percolation problems in two dimensions, branching Brownian motions and log-correlated fields, Liouville quantum gravity, random walks in random environments and random graphs.

Each lecture day will be focused on one particular theme; speakers will be asked to focus their talks on open problems and tools that need to be developed in order to encourage collaborations between participants.

The workshop, a satellite activity of the XIX International Congress on Mathematical Physics that will be held in Montréal on July 23-28,  is jointly supported by the Centre de recherches mathématiques and by the Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences.

September 10 – 28, 2018 » Faces of Integrability

Organizers: Jacques Hurtubise (McGill), Nicolai Reshetikhin (Berkeley), Lauren K. Williams (Berkeley)

The theory of integrable systems, with its origins in symmetries, has intricate ties to a wide variety of areas of mathematics. Sometimes the ties are straightforward, but in many cases, the links are more complicated, and indeed somewhat difficult to make explicit.  Some of these interfaces, between integrability, geometry, representation theory, and probability theory will be dominating subjects during the conference and satellite activities.  Themes to be covered include the role of cluster algebras and cluster varieties in the description of moduli spaces, the links between integrable systems and representation theory appearing in such areas as quantum groups and quantization of moduli spaces, and the fascinating interfaces of probability theory, combinatorics and integrable systems appearing in several processes linked to statistical mechanical models.

During the first week of activities, introductory lectures for graduate students will take place, as well as research seminars and discussions. The conference will take place during the second week. During the third week, research discussions and seminars will continue together with follow-up lectures for graduate students.

11 juin – 6 juillet 2018 » L’inférence causale en présence de dépendance et de structure de réseau

Organisateurs: Erica E.M. Moodie (McGill), David A. Stephens (McGill), Alexandra M. Schmidt (McGill)

L’objectif de la plupart, sinon de la totalité, de l’inférence statistique est de découvrir des relations causales. Pourtant, il est généralement impossible d’établir des liens de causalité à partir de procédures statistiques classiques. Au cours des trois dernières décennies, le champ de recherche en inférence causale s’est rapidement développé, et pourtant une grande partie de la littérature est consacrée à des cas relativement simples. Dans le cadre de ce programme d’un mois, nous cherchons à repousser les frontières de l’inférence causale au-delà des cas simples pour accommoder des données complexes avec des caractéristiques telles que les réseaux ou les structures spatiales. Nous tiendrons une série de conférences et d’ateliers abordant des aspects actuels et innovants de l’inférence causale, qui consiste à découvrir les relations entre les variables dans un contexte de collecte de données d’observation. Tout au long de ce programme, nous étudierons des situations nouvelles et stimulantes qui ont été étudiées dans la littérature statistique classique, mais qui n’ont pas été considérées sous l’angle de l’inférence causale. Le thème unifiant du programme est celui de la dépendance complexe, avec un accent particulier sur les structures spatiales, de réseaux et graphiques.

 

 

2 – 6 juillet 2018 » Une célébration du programme postdoctoral du CICMA

Organisateurs: Henri Darmon (McGill), Andrew Granville (Montréal)

Le but de cet atelier est d’accueillir les chercheurs qui ont été stagiaires postdoctoraux au Centre Interuniversitaire en Calcul Mathématique Algébrique (CICMA) au cours des trois dernières décennies. Le CICMA regroupe des chercheurs en théorie des nombres, en théorie des groupes et en géométrie algébrique.

La grande majorité de ses stagiaires postdoctoraux ont entamé des carrières académiques fructueuses après leurs séjours à Montréal, et ont conservé des liens étroits avec le CICMA. Ces individus continuent à contribuer au succès de notre laboratoire  en nous envoyant leurs étudiants et, dans certains cas, en poursuivant des collaborations fructueuses avec les membres permanents du CICMA. Le 50e anniversaire du CRM crée une opportunité d’organiser une rencontre de tous ces chercheurs, afin de célébrer leurs succès et leurs contributions à la vie scientifique du CICMA.

9 – 20 juillet 2018 » Atelier d’été de Montréal sur les défis en probabilités et en physique mathématique

Organisateurs: Alexander Fribergh (Montréal), Louigi Addario-Berry (McGill), Omer Angel (British Columbia)

Cet événement ressemble à un semestre thématique de courte durée avec un horaire d’exposés clairsemé, permettant aux participants d’avoir le temps nécessaire pour promouvoir les collaborations ainsi que les discussions entre différents domaines des probabilités.

Le sujet central de cet atelier sera les environnements aléatoires comme les verres de spin, les problèmes de percolation en dimension 2, le mouvement brownien branchant et les champs log-corrélés, la gravité quantique de Liouville, les marches aléatoires en milieux aléatoires ainsi que les graphes aléatoires.

Chaque journée sera dédiée à un thème particulier et on demandera aux conférenciers de mettre l’accent sur les problèmes ouverts ainsi que les méthodes à développer dans leur domaine dans le but d’encourager les collaborations entre participants.

Cet atelier, une activité satellite de l’International Congress on Mathematical Physics qui aura lieu à Montréal du 23 au 28 juillet 2018, est appuyée conjointement par le Centre de recherches mathématiques et le Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences.

10 – 28 septembre 2018 » Les différentes facettes de l’intégrabilité

Organisateurs: Jacques Hurtubise (McGill), Nicolai Reshetikhin (Berkeley), Lauren K. Williams (Berkeley)

La théorie des systèmes intégrables, ayant ses sources dans les symétries, a des liens intimes avec une panoplie de domaines des mathématiques. Parfois ces liens sont directs, mais parfois ces liens sont plus complexes, et même difficiles à rendre explicites.  Quelques-unes de ces interfaces, entre l’intégrabilité, la géométrie, la théorie des représentations et les probabilités seront les sujets dominants de cette conférence et de ses activités satellites. Les thèmes à couvrir comprennent le rôle des algèbres de ‘clusters’ et de leurs variétés associées dans la description des espaces de modules, les liens entre les systèmes intégrables et la théorie des représentations qui interviennent entre dans des domaines tels que les groupes quantiques et la quantification des espaces de modules, et les interfaces fascinantes entre la théorie des probabilités, la combinatoire et la théorie des systèmes intégrables qui interviennent dans plusieurs processus liés à des modèles de mécanique statistique.

La première semaine sera vouée à des cours préparatoires pour étudiants des cycles supérieurs, ainsi que quelques séminaires de recherche et discussions. La conférence aura lieu la deuxième semaine. Des discussions de recherche et des séminaires continueront la troisième semaine, avec des cours pour les étudiants qui feront le suivi.