September 17 – October 14, 2018 » Algebra and combinatorics at LaCIM, a conference for the 50th anniversary of the CRM

Organizers: François Bergeron (UQAM),Srecko Brlek (UQAM), Christophe Hohlweg (UQAM)

Scientific Committee

• François Bergeron (UQAM);
• Valérie Berthé (Université Paris-Diderot);
• Srecko Brlek (UQAM);
• Laurent Habsieger (Université Claude Bernard, Lyon);
• Sylvie Hamel (UdeM)
• Christophe Hohlweg (UQAM);
• Jean-Christophe Novelli (Université Paris-Est);
• Nathan Reading (North Carolina State University);
• Lauren Williams (UC Berkeley).

escription: On the occasion of CRM’s 50th anniversary in 2018, the Laboratoire de Combinatoire et d’Informatique Mathématique (LaCIM) organizes a month of scientific activities to discuss the state-of-the-art and manifold interconnections between the lively topics that have long been at the core of research at LaCIM: algebraic combinatorics, combinatorial representation theory, Coxeter groups theory, combinatorics of words, discrete geometry, enumerative combinatorics, mathematical computer science and their applications. The scientific activities will be articulated around the confirmed participations of Mireille Bousquet-Mélou and Ezra Miller; together with a week-long international conference to be held from the 24th to the 28th of September 2018. This conference will be organized as follows:

* two days session dedicated to subjects related to ties between algebra and combinatorics;
* two days session dedicated to subjects related to ties between combinatorics, theoretical computer science, and statistical physics.

The bridge between the two sessions will be a special event on Wednesday 26th, aiming at underlying 30 years of partnership of LaCIM and CRM through 4 conferences given by:

* Mireille Bousquet-Mélou,
* Ezra Miller,

and by LaCIM’s past and current holders of the Canadian Research Chair, “Algebra, Combinatorics and Mathematical Computer Science”

* Christophe Reutenauer and
* Hugh Thomas.

March 1 – 31, 2019 » New Developments in Free Probability and Applications

Organizers: Benoît Collins (Kyoto), James Mingo (Queen’s), Roland Speicher (Saarland), Dan-Virgil Voiculescu (Berkeley)

The thematic one-month program “New Developments in Free Probability and Applications,” to be held at the CRM in March 2019, will highlight the depth and beauty of Free Probability theory as well as the various connections with other fields.

In the spring of 1991, Dan Voiculescu was the holder of the Aisenstadt chair at the CRM. At this time, free probability was still in its infancy and only known to a small group of enthusiasts. This was going to change. Voiculescu gave the Aisenstadt Lectures on free probability in Montréal, organizing the material and bringing it with the help of his students Ken Dykema and Alexandru Nica into a publishable form. The resulting book was the first volume in the CRM Monograph Series. On the timely occasion of the 50th anniversary of the CRM, our thematic program will take place where the seed was sown, with Dan Voiculescu as one of the scholars-in-residence.

The program activities will be anchored by two one-week workshops. In the other two weeks, we expect to organize a special program aimed at bringing graduate students and postdoctoral fellows quickly to the frontiers of the subject.

The first workshop will be inclined more to the pure side of free probability, in particular: operator algebras and random matrix theory, and the second workshop will put its emphasis on applications, for example quantum information theory and  mathematical physics.

We will focus our attention on recent developments of the field, which include—but are not limited to: traffic freeness, bi-free probability, analysis of free entropy, (free) quantum groups, functional inequalities in free probability, new applications to random matrix theory and quantum information theory, advances in free Malliavin calculus and regularity questions of distributions.

April 1 – 30, 2019 » Topological and Rigorous Computational Methods for High Dimensional Dynamics

Organizers: Jean-Philippe Lessard (McGill), Konstantin Mischaikow (Rutgers), Jan Bouwe van den Berg (VU Amsterdam)

The focus of this program is on identifying explicit dynamical structures in nonlinear systems that are high dimensional, poorly resolved, or both. In these problems, computational mathematics is often the only feasible way forward.

The first featured workshop explores the computational challenges of rigorously identifying and extracting fundamental dynamical features such as equilibria, periodic orbits, connecting orbits and invariant manifolds in infinite-dimensional dynamical systems. The second featured workshop investigates the development of computational algebraic topological tools for studying multiparameter, nonlinear systems where the nonlinearities are poorly defined.

The main aim is to identify, characterize, and predict nonlinear dynamics from high-dimensional time series data sets. Each workshop is preceded by a hands-on tutorial aimed at graduate students, postdocs and early- to mid-career mathematicians.

April 29 – May 17, 2019 » Faces of Integrability

Organizers: Jacques Hurtubise (McGill), Nicolai Reshetikhin (Berkeley), Lauren K. Williams (Berkeley)

The theory of integrable systems, with its origins in symmetries, has intricate ties to a wide variety of areas of mathematics. Sometimes the ties are straightforward, but in many cases, the links are more complicated, and indeed somewhat difficult to make explicit.  Some of these interfaces, between integrability, geometry, representation theory, and probability theory will be dominating subjects during the conference and satellite activities.  Themes to be covered include the role of cluster algebras and cluster varieties in the description of moduli spaces, the links between integrable systems and representation theory appearing in such areas as quantum groups and quantization of moduli spaces, and the fascinating interfaces of probability theory, combinatorics and integrable systems appearing in several processes linked to statistical mechanical models.

During the first week of activities, introductory lectures for graduate students will take place, as well as research seminars and discussions. The conference will take place during the second week. During the third week, research discussions and seminars will continue together with follow-up lectures for graduate students.

May 1 – 31, 2019 » Data Assimilation: Theory, Algorithms, and Applications

Organizers: Tony Humphries (McGill), Sebastian Reich (Potsdam & Reading), Andrew Stuart (Caltech)

The seamless integration of large data sets into computational models provides one of the central challenges for the mathematical sciences of the 21st century. When the computational model is based on dynamical systems and the data is time ordered, the process of combining data and models is called data assimilation. Historically, the field has been primarily developed by practitioners within the geophysical sciences; however, it has enormous potential in many more subject areas.

This month-long thematic activity is aimed at developing the underpinning mathematical theory of data assimilation, the process of combining data with dynamical systems to learn hidden states and unknown parameters. The activities will be guided and informed by applications coming from the physical, biomedical, social and cognitive sciences. Methodologies based around particle filtering, ensemble Kalman filtering, optimization and Bayesian inverse problems will underpin the program. Long-term visitors in all of these fields will be present, and a number of short-term visitors will attend around the four workshops devoted to underpinning methodologies, geophysical applications, biomedical applications and applications from the social and cognitive sciences.

17 septembre – 14 octobre 2018 » Algèbre et combinatoire au LaCIM, une conférence pour le 50e anniversaire du CRM

Organisateurs: François Bergeron (UQAM), Srecko Brlek (UQAM), Christophe Hohlweg (UQAM)

Comité scientifique

• François Bergeron (UQAM);
• Valérie Berthé (Université Paris-Diderot);
• Srecko Brlek (UQAM);
• Laurent Habsieger (Université Claude Bernard, Lyon);
• Sylvie Hamel (UdeM)
• Christophe Hohlweg (UQAM);
• Jean-Christophe Novelli (Université Paris-Est);
• Nathan Reading (North Carolina State University);
• Lauren Williams (UC Berkeley).

À l’occasion du 50e anniversaire du CRM en 2018, le Laboratoire de Combinatoire et d’Informatique Mathématique (LaCIM) organise un mois d’activités scientifiques autour des sujets qui ont été au centre des préoccupations des membres du LaCIM depuis sa création : la combinatoire algébrique, la théorie des représentations combinatoire, les groupes de Coxeter, la combinatoire des mots, la géométrie discrète, la combinatoire énumérative, l’informatique mathématique et leurs applications. Ces activités scientifiques s’articuleront autour de la présence de deux chercheurs de renom qui seront en résidence pendant ce mois : Mireille Bousquet-Mélou (LaBRI, Bordeaux) et Ezra Miller (Duke University); à leur présence s’ajoute une conférence internationale d’une semaine qui aura lieu du 24 au 28 septembre 2018. Cette conférence sera organisée comme suit :

* deux journées seront dédiées à des sujets concernant les liens entre l’algèbre et la combinatoire;
* deux journées seront dédiées à des sujets concernant les liens entre la combinatoire, l’informatique théorique et la statistique mathématique.

Le pont entre ces deux sessions sera assuré par un événement special, le mercredi 26 septembre, qui servira à souligner les 30 années de partenariat entre le LaCIM et le CRM grâce à quatre conférences données par ::

* Mireille Bousquet-Mélou,
* Ezra Miller,

et par le premier et l’actuel titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada « Algèbre, combinatoire et informatique mathématique »

* Christophe Reutenauer et
* Hugh Thomas.

1 – 31 mars 2019 » Nouveaux développements en probabilités libres et applications

Nouveaux développements en probabilités libres et applications

Organisateurs: Benoît Collins (Kyoto), James Mingo (Queen’s), Roland Speicher (Saarland), Dan-Virgil Voiculescu (Berkeley)

Ce programme thématique d’un mois mettra en valeur la profondeur et la beauté de la théorie des probabilités libres ainsi que ses liens variés avec les autres domaines des mathématiques.

Au printemps 1991, Dan Voiculescu était le titulaire de la chaire Aisenstadt du CRM. À cette époque, les probabilités libres en étaient encore à leurs débuts, et n’étaient connues que d’un petit groupe d’enthousiastes. Cela allait changer. Voiculescu a donné les cours Aisenstadt sur les probabilités à Montréal, et a organisé le matériel de ses cours en une publication à l’aide de ses étudiants Ken Dykema et Alexandru Nica. Il en a résulté un livre qui était le premier volume de la collection CRM Monograph Series. À l’occasion on ne peut plus pertinente du 50e anniversaire du CRM, notre programme thématique aura lieu là où les graines des probabilités libres ont été semées, avec Dan Voiculescu comme chercheur en résidence.

Les activités du programme s’articuleront autour de deux ateliers d’une semaine. Pendant les deux autres semaines, nous comptons organiser un programme spécial dans le but d’amener rapidement les étudiants gradués et postdoctorants aux frontières du sujet.

Le premier atelier penchera vers le côté fondamental des probabilités libres, avec en particulier: algèbres d’opérateurs et théorie des matrices aléatoires. Quant au deuxième atelier, il mettra plus l’emphase sur les applications, en particulier sur l’information quantique et la physique mathématique.

Nous porterons notre attention sur les développements récents du domaine, qui incluent, entre autres: liberté des traffics, bi-free probability, analyse de l’entropie libre, groupes quantique libres, inégalités fonctionnelles en probabilités libres, nouvelles applications aux matrices aléatoires et à l’information quantique, progrès en calcul de Malliavin libre, et problèmes de régularité de distributions.

1 – 30 avril 2019 » Méthodes topologiques, computationnelles et rigoureuses pour la dynamique en haute dimension

Organisateurs: Jean-Philippe Lessard (McGill), Konstantin Mischaikow (Rutgers), Jan Bouwe van den Berg (VU Amsterdam)

L’objectif de ce programme est d’identifier des structures dynamiques explicites dans des systèmes non linéaires en dimension élevée, où parfois les termes non linéaires ne sont connus qu’approximativement. Dans ces problèmes, les simulations numériques sont souvent les seuls outils permettant d’obtenir de l’information sur la nature des solutions.

Le premier atelier de ce programme explorera les défis computationnels reliés à l’identification et à l’extraction rigoureuses d’objets dynamiques fondamentaux tels les équilibres, les orbites périodiques, les connexions homoclines/hétéroclines et les variétés invariantes dans les systèmes dynamiques en dimension infinie. Le deuxième atelier étudiera le développement de méthodes de topologie algébrique computationnelle pour l’étude de systèmes non linéaires à plusieurs paramètres où les termes non linéaires sont mal définis.

L’objectif principal sera d’identifier, de caractériser et de prédire la dynamique non linéaire à partir de données en haute dimension générées à partir de séries temporelles. Chaque atelier sera précédé d’une école pratique destiné aux étudiants gradués, aux chercheurs postdoctoraux et aux mathématiciens en début de carrière.

1 – 31 mai 2019 » Assimilation de données : théorie, algorithmes et applications

Organisateurs: Tony Humphries (McGill), Sebastian Reich (Potsdam & Reading), Andrew Stuart (Caltech)

L’intégration harmonieuse de jeux de données de grande taille au sein de modèles de calcul constitue un des défis principaux des sciences mathématiques du 21e siècle. Lorsque le modèle de calcul est basé sur les systèmes dynamiques et que les données ont un ordre temporel, l’intégration des données aux modèles est appelée assimilation de données. Jusqu’ici ce domaine a été surtout développé par des experts en sciences géophysiques; toutefois son potentiel de développement dans d’autres disciplines est énorme.

Le présent programme thématique, qui durera un mois, a pour objectif de faire progresser la théorie mathématique sous-jacente à l’assimilation de données, c’est-à-dire le processus consistant à intégrer des données aux systèmes dynamiques afin de découvrir des états cachés et des paramètres inconnus. Pour les activités du programme thématique, les organisateurs s’inspireront des applications provenant des sciences physiques, biomédicales, sociales et cognitives. Le programme portera sur des méthodologies reliées aux filtres particulaires, aux filtres de Kalman d’ensemble, à l’optimisation et à l’approche bayésienne pour les problèmes inverses. Des visiteurs à long terme dans tous ces domaines participeront au programme, et des visiteurs à court terme assisteront aux ateliers (probablement quatre ateliers) consacrés aux méthodologies, aux applications géophysiques, aux applications biomédicales, et aux applications en sciences sociales et cognitives.

1 – 30 juin 2019 » Algèbre homologique, analyse microlocale et géométrie symplectique

Organisateurs: Emmanuel Giroux (UMI CNRS-CRM & ENS Lyon), Stéphane Guillermou (Grenoble Alpes)

Le but de ce programme scientifique sera de présenter et discuter les développements récents dans les applications de l’analyse microlocale des faisceaux à la géométrie symplectique. On s’intéressera tout spécialement au travail de Dmitry Tamarkin, le chercheur en résidence pour ce programme, qui donnera des exposés sur sa catégorie microlocale et ses relations avec la catégorie de Fukaya. La première semaine du programme sera consacrée à des exposés introductifs destinés à fournir aux jeunes participants les bases nécessaires. Pendant les deux semaines suivantes, Dmitry Tamarkin présentera son travail dans les séances du matin et le contenu de ses exposés sera rediscuté et approfondi dans les séances de l’après-midi. Pour finir, un petit colloque sera organisé pendant la dernière semaine du programme.